THE CABIN

 
THE CABIN

IT WAS MAY, IF MEMORY SERVES ME RIGHT? THE YEAR ESCAPES MY MEMORY – BUT THIS IS A TRUE STORY… I SHOULD PROTECT THE OTHER GUILTY AND INNOCENT PARTIES. I’LL SAY THIS MUCH. I WAS ONE OF THOSE GUILTY PARTIES. BUT THAT’S NOT NEWS TO ANYONE. IS IT ? IT HAD BEEN A COLD LONG WINTER – MY BEST FRIEND CINDY HAD BEEN DATING THE MOST RESPECTABLE PERSON I’D EVER MET TO THAT POINT – A DOCTOR WHO CARED AND TRAVELLED TO POOR COUNTRIES FOR 6 MONTHS AT A TIME TO HELP PEOPLE WHO REALLY NEEDED HELP. ( I KNOW CLAUDE IS THE ONLY PERSON WHO’LL ASSUME {RESPECT} MEANS I WANTED TO JUMP HIS BONE ! BUT I TOTALLY RESPECTED HIM AS A PERSON – PLUS I’M HOPING ( FOR THIS STORY ) THAT HE WAS 100 % STRAIGHT – THIS WAS IN OUR LATE 20’S EARLY 30’S – WE DIDN’T HAVE 95 % OF THE POPULATION ‘BISEXUAL’ YET. IT WAS STILL AS I CALL IT – ‘BEHAVIOUR FROM OUR GENERATION’ – STRAIGHT, GAY, CLOSET GAYS, A FEW NOT COMPLETELY OUT OF THE CLOSET, WHO CALLED THEMSELVES BI-SEXUAL, AND THE CHILD MOLESTERS ! ANYWAYS. MY FRIEND HAD BEEN ENGAGED TO THIS GUY FOR 3 OR 4 YEARS BY THIS POINT – AND BEFORE LEAVING ON HIS SECOND ASSIGNMENT TO SOUTH AMERICA / AFRICA – WHICHEVER PLACES PEOPLE WENT TO HELP IN THOSE DAYS. I WAS STILL A LITTLE IN MY AIRHEAD PHASES, AND DIDN’T REALLY PAY ATTENTION TO STUFF LIKE COUNTRY NAMES, AND USELESS INFO. – HE CALLED CINDY TO ASK IF SHE’D GO TO HIS CABIN WITHIN A WEEK OR SO AND LOCK EVERYTHING-UP ? ( HE’D FORGOTTEN APPARENTLY). I’D ONLY SEEN THE CABIN FROM THE OUTSIDE ONE NIGHT, AND A FEW PICTURE’S. BUT IT DID SEEMED VERY NICE AND COZY. OBVIOUSLY, SHE ASKED ME TO GO SPEND THE WEEKEND AT THIS CABIN, AND ALTHOUGH IT DIDN’T REALLY SOUND LIKE FUN I NEEDED AWAY TIME, PLUS ANYTHING TO GET AWAY FROM MYKE, FOR A WEEKEND – THAT SEALED THE DEAL FOR ME, SO I AGREED. AND THE FOLLOWING FRIDAY AFTERNOON, “BOOZE ALL PACKED-UP.” WE HEADED TO OUR WEEKEND RETREAT IN MAINE……… A NICE MYSTERIOUS CABIN IN THE WOODS. I WAS PRAYING HE HAD CABLE – THAT WAS MY ONLY WISH ! I WAS ALREADY A SUCKER FOR TORONTO MAPLE LEAFS, AND THEY WERE PLAYING A PLAY-OFF GAME THAT SATURDAY NIGHT. { ONE COMMENT FROM ANYONE, AND YOUR LIFE COULD BE IN DANGER ? } REMEMBER I DO KNOW WHERE YOU ALL LIVE !!!!!!!! ‘ENOUGH SAID.
WE FINALLY ARRIVED ON FRIDAY NIGHT, IT WAS HARDER TO LOCATE AND SEE ADDRESS’ IN THE DARKENED BACK ROADS BUT MISSION ACCOMPLISHED, THE KEYS WERE OVER THE DOOR AS INDICATED SO WE WERE HAPPY CAMPERS. WE WERE ALSO VERY TIRED AND THE FIRST THING WE DID WAS HIT THE LIQUOR CABINET, WHY DRINK OUR STUFF BEFORE WE HAD TO – RIGHT ? THE CABIN WAS COZY, AND THE PICTURES DIDN’T LIE – IT WAS A VERY NICE PLACE, SOMETHING A DOCTOR COULD AFFORD – I WAS IMPRESSED – AND IN THOSE DAYS IT TOOK A LOT TO IMPRESS ME ! WE UNPACKED THE LITTLE AMOUNT OF STUFF WE BROUGHT – WE KNEW WE’D BE STUCK IN THE WOODS SO WE DIDN’T NEED MUCH – AS LONG AS WE DIDN’T SMELL, WE WERE BOTH PRETTY HAPPY.
THE CABIN HAD NO T.V. BUT IT DID HAVE A SMALL RADIO AND A LOT OF BOOKS WHICH WE CONSIDERED READING DURING THE WEEKEND, BUT THAT WAS OUR ( REALLY BORED PLAN – NOTHING ELSE ! ) WE STAYED UP FOR A FEW MORE HOURS – AND DECIDED TO GO TO BED, SINCE WE’D DRANK PRETTY QUICKLY UPON OUR ARRIVAL – AND WE WERE FEELING NO PAIN. THE CABIN ONLY HAD THE ONE BED SO – WE’D SLEPT IN THE SAME BED BEFORE, NO BIG DEAL – MY ONLY CONCERNS WERE MY FRIENDS FARTING IN BED. ON ONE OCCASION WHEN WE SPENT THE NIGHT IN THE SAME BED I WAS AWOKEN……….. OH, I THINK I’LL SKIP THIS PART FOR ANOTHER STORY ! THE MATTRESS WASN’T VERY COMFY, VERY BUMPY, BUT WE DECIDED TO FIX IT IN THE MORNING.

THAT FIRST NIGHT WE COULD OF PASSED OUT ON A ROCK – SO WE NEVER REALLY NOTICED, OR AT LEAST I DIDN’T !
THE NEXT MORNING I WOKE UP FIRST – SO I JUMPED IN THE TUB. AGAIN NO SHOWER ~ THIS WAS BORDER-LINE SLEEPING OUTSIDE ? WHEN I WAS FINISHED CINDY WAS AWAKE AND STILL LAYING IN BED, SO I GRABBED A PIECE OF THE BLANKET AND SNUGGLED BACK INTO BED FOR A BIT… FOR REASONS NEITHER ONE OF US UNDERSTANDS ~ IS THE FACT THAT WHEN WE’RE IN BED CHATTING, STARING AT THE CEILING, WE’VE HAD THE GREATEST IDEAS, OUR COMBINED BRAINS HAVE HAD HEAVY / DEEP / PROVOKING / EMOTIONAL BREAK THROUGH LYING IN BEDS. BUT WE’VE NEVER BEEN ABLE TO BE THAT INTENSE WHILE WE ARE STANDING UP OR EVEN SITTING DOWN ? WEIRD UHU ? … I KNOW, ABSOLUTELY ODD – BUT THAT’S ALWAYS BEEN OUR WAY, IT’S DIFFERENT, BUT IT WORKS FOR US AND WE KNOW BETTER THAN TO FIX WHAT ISN’T BROKEN. IT JUST WORKS FOR US. SO WE DON’T MESS WITH THE POWER…. LOL
ANYWAYS, ‘CUT BACK TO THE TWO OF US WAKING UP – LAYING UP – LAYING IN BED TALKING A STORM….. I COULDN’T GET COMFORTABLE, AGAIN AND WE WANTED TO KNOW WHY THIS JUNK MATRESS’ WAS SO UNCOMFORTABLE. SHE TOLD ME HOW MUCH HER BACK WAS IN PAIN AND AFTER LAYING BACK DOWN FOR 10 MINUTES I KNEW WHAT SHE MEANT, AGAIN, & MY BACK WAS ALREADY HURTING. THIS HAD TO BE THE WORSE MATTRESS’ IN THE HISTORY OF MATTRESSES’ – ALL LUMPY AND IT HAD SEEN BETTER DAYS.
ANYWAYS, WE SLOWLY GOT UP AND I HELPED HER MAKE THE BED – BUT WHEN MY HAND FELT UNDER THE MATTRESS TO TUCK IN THE SHEET I FELT SOMETHING WHICH WAS SHAPED IN THE SHAPE OF A BRICK RUB OVER THE TOP OF MY HAND – I RESPONDED IMMEDIATELY; “ AH – HA ! “ I SAID. “ I THINK I FOUND THE PROBLEM AND PULLED OUT WHATEVER IT WAS THAT MADE THIS MATTRESS UN-COMFY AS HELL. “ REACHING FURTHER UNDER THE MATTRESS A FEW MORE INCHES, IN ORDER TO PULL OUT THE BRICK SHAPED ITEM UNDER THE MATTRESS FROM HELL. I QUICKLY GRABBED THE ITEM AND LAID IT ON TOP OF THE BED.

WHEN WE BOTH SAW WHAT IT WAS (WE BOTH LIFTED OUR HEAD SIMULTANEOUSLY AND OUR MOUTH DROPPED OPEN AND SIMPLY STARED BEWILDERED AT EACH OTHER. WE DIDN’T SAY A WORD FOR WHAT SEEMED LIKE ½ AN HOUR, BUT IT WAS PROBABLY CLOSER TO 10 SECONDS, MAYBE 30 SECONDS MAXED ? I THINK CINDY WAS THE FIRST TO UTTER REAL WORDS WHICH BROKE OUR STATE OF CONFUSION TEMPORARILY.
“OMG” SHE RESPONDED – “ARE THOSE ALL $20.00 BILLS ?” I LOOKED AGAIN WITH MORE CURIOUSITY, AND IT WAS. I NOTICED SHE REACHED UNDER THE MATTRESS AGAIN AND PULLED ANOTHER BUNDLE OF AMERICAN $20.00 BILLS OUR MOUTHS OPENED EVEN WIDER AND WE BOTH STARTED REACHING FOR THE BUNDLES. THEIR WAS 7 AND ½ BUNDLES – SO WE DID THE NORMAL THING IN THAT TYPE OF SITUATION, AND SIT BACK DOWN ON THE BED AND COUNTED THE MONEY. WE FINALLY COUNTED $7.500.00 ALL IN TWENTIES. WE DIDN’T SPEAK FOR A FEW MINUTES WHILE CINDY STARTED TELLING ME HOW DECEIVED SHE FELT – A MAN SHE INTENDED TO MARRY WAS HIDING MONEY FROM HER, SHE BECAME UPSET !
NOW THIS NEXT PART IS A LITTLE BLURRY, BUT ONE OF US SAID LETS GO TO BANGOR AND SPEND THE MONEY – ‘THAT’LL TEACH HIM A LESSON, NOT TO HIDE STUFF FROM YOU. IF HE’S TO BE YOUR FUTURE HUSBAND YOU SHOULDN’T HAVE SECRETS FROM EACH OTHER ?’ SO LET’S TEACH HIM A LESSON. AND SO WE DID – I GOT THE BEST JEANS AND SHOES I’D EVER SEEN, SHIRTS, A SUIT, AND CINDY GOT HERSELF ONE OF THE BEST LOOKING STRING STRAPPED-BLACK DRESS.
( WELL EVERY WOMAN NEEDS A GOOD SEXY BLACK DRESS. ) WHEN WE RETURNED THAT NIGHT WITH OUR SHOPPING DONE, WE FELT REALLY GOOD. THIS HAD TURNED OUT TO BE A GREAT WEEKEND GET AWAY AFTER ALL. WE MODELLED OUR NEW CLOTHES TO EACH OTHER FOR AWHILE AND I CAUGHT THE GAME ON THE RADIO WHICH WAS REALLY COOL. WE WERE BOTH HAPPY CAMPERS NOW…
THE FOLLOWING EARLY AFTERNOON – THERE WAS A KNOCKED ON THE DOOR ~ WE WEREN’T EXPECTING ANYONE AND WE WERE PLANNING ON DRIVING BACK WITHIN’ THE NEXT HOUR, BUT AT THE DOOR THIS OLDER COUPLE ENTERED THE CABIN AND SEEMED TO LOOK AT US STRANGELY, WHILE WE LOOKED AT THEM STRANGELY.
THE OLDER MAN SPOKE FIRST, AND I WAS CONFUSED BY HIS QUESTION ? “ WHO ARE YOU ? AND WHY ARE YOU IN OUR CABIN ? “
IT WASN’T REGISTERING IN MY BRAIN AS FAST AS IT SHOULD HAVE BUT HE WENT ON TALKING AND I BEGAN TO UNDERSTAND MUCH BETTER. “ NO ! “ CINDY REPLIED. “ THIS IS MY FIANCEE’S CABIN, MAYBE YOU KNOW HIM ? DR. RICHARDS ? “ PERSONALLY IT WAS NOW STARTING TO ADD UP, AND I WISH REALITY WASN’T COMING BACK TO MY BRAIN AT SUCH A FAST PASTES. BUT THE NEXT WORDS OUT OF THEIR MOUTH WAS LIKE WATCHING A TRAIN WRECK ! YOU DON’T WANT TO LOOK, BUT YOU CAN’T HELP YOURSELF.
“YES.” SAID THE OLD WOMAN. “ HE LIVES TWO CABINS DOWN FROM US, HE’S A LOVELY MAN…..” AND THEN CINDY SAID ; “ SO THE MONEY UNDER THE MATRESS’ WAS YOURS THEN ?” “YES.” REPLIED THE OLD MAN – IT’S OUR LIFE SAVINGS ………………! I COULD GO ON BUT YOU CAN PROBABLY FIGURE OUT THE REST ? WHAT A NIGHTMARE, BUT ON THE UPSIDE, I DID GET MYSELF SOME REALLY NICE STUFF WITH THEIR MONEY. AND NO COPS WERE INVOLVED, WHICH IS ALWAYS A PLUS IN MY EYE’S…..

AN ORIGINAL PIECE BY : SANDEE-GUY BREAU
This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to THE CABIN

  1. TYLER says:

    I love how I feel after reading your blogs….. Thanks, this was a great story

  2. Francine says:

    IT TOOK ME A MINUTE TO FIGURE OUT THE MONEY BELONGED TO THE ……. WELL I DON\’T WANT TO SPOIL IT FOR ANYONE,BUT I LOVED IT.

  3. AIDEN RANDY says:

    I READ THIS @ WORK TODAY AND PRINTED IT OUT AND GAVE COPIES TO A BUNCH OF PEOPLE, I LOVE THIS ONE THE MOST ( OR IN MY TOP 3 ) VERY GOOD…

  4. JAMES says:

    AHHHH ! I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY YOU DON\’T WRITE FOR A LIVING. YOU ARE SIMPLY BRILLIANT……JAMES

  5. Davide says:

    WELL YOU NEVER SAID WHAT HAPPENNED WITH THEIR MONEY IN THE END ?DID YOU HAVE TO PAY IT BACK ?

  6. NATHANIEL says:

    NICE STORY…. I LIKE HOW YOU ENDED IT ! ^-^

  7. JULIE says:

    THIS IS PROBABLY MY FAVOURITE STORY…..

  8. Cynthia says:

    I RE-LIVED THE ENTIRE EXPERIENCE, AND EVEN THOUGH I WAS THEREI STILL LAUGHED LIKE A IDIOT ! FUNNY STUFF…

  9. TERRI says:

    THIS IS PROBABLY MY ALL-TIME FAVOURITE STORY !

  10. Ryan says:

    EXCELLENT STORY BRO…..^/^

Leave a Reply

